3-game bill to take wraps off SuperLiga

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 

Intense volleyball action returns as the Philippine SuperLiga takes its bow this Sunday with three matches on tap at the Philsports Arena.

No less than Shanrit Wongprasert, Executive Vice president of the  Asian Volleyball Confederation (AVC) for the Southeast Asian Zone, will witness the grand opening of the country’s first club league  designed as the ultimate destination for volleybelles after their collegiate careers.

A draw to determine the initial pairings will be held before Wongprasert joins PSL officials, led by Ramon “Tats” Suzara, PSL president and chairman of the AVC Development and Marketing Committee; and Philip Ella Juico, PSL chairman and former chairman of the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC), in a press conference set at 1:30 p.m. today at the Wack Wack Golf and Country Club.

Six teams are taking part in the PSL’s debut tournament, namely Cignal, Petron, PLDT (Philippine Long Distance Telephone), Cagayan Valley, PCSO-Bingo Milyonaryo and the Philippine Army.

Petron will be bannered by Ateneo stars Gretchen Jo and Charo Soriano with former Santo Tomas ace and national team member Roxanne Pimentel as skipper. Vilet Ponce-de Leon was named Petron coach.

Bingo Milyonaryo will be led by La Salle ace Ivy Remulla, along with low Archers Michelle Gumabao, Maureen Penetrante and Stephanie Mercado, daughter of the Asia’s former track queen Lydia De Vega-Mercado. DLSU mentor Ronald Dulay coaches the team.

Cignal will have Venus Bernal (UST), Michelle Datuin (DLSU and a commercial model) and Jennelyn Reyes (NU) helping coach Sammy Acayler, who is the current mentor of Perpetual Help.

Lou Ann Catigay (San Sebastian) will skipper PLDT-MyDSL with support from the likes of Pau Soriano (Adamson), Laurence Latigay (SSC-R), Lislee Ann Patone (ADU) and with Francis Vicente (formerly of NU) as coach.

Cagayan Valley will be led by Wendy Semanda (FEU),  Jheck Dionela and Royce Tubino (both of Perpetual Help) and will be coached by Nes Pamillar (formerly of FEU).

The Philippine Army-TMS Shipping will be composed of national team veterans Mary Jane Balse (UST), the Carolino Sisters— Michelle and Marietta (Letran), skipper Joanne Bunag and coach Rico de Guzman.

Continue reading 3-game bill to take wraps off SuperLiga at Journal.com.ph (source) or access more Latest Sports News articles.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>