PBA unveils format for Philippine Cup

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 

THE Philippine Basketball Association has released the format for the Philippine Cup which kicks off the 2013 season on Sept. 30 at the Smart-Araneta Coliseum, guaranteeing all 10 ballclubs will run the gauntlet starting with the 14-game elimination round.

An inter-intra format clusters the Air21 Express, Meralco Bolts, Petron Blaze Boosters, Barangay Ginebra San Miguel Kings, and San Mig Coffee Mixers (formerly B-Meg) in Group A, and the Alaska Aces, Barako Bull Energy Cola, Global Port Batang Pier, Rain or Shine Elasto Painters, and the defending champion Talk ‘N Text Tropang Texters in Group B.

Teams in each group will meet the other twice (10 games) and members of the other group once (4), completing the elimination phase. Fans will therefore be treated with the spectacle of crowd heavy Ginebra squaring off with Petron and San Mig Coffee twice while tangling with TNT, Alaska and Rain or Shine once and vice versa.

The top eight teams based on their cumulative win-loss records advance to the quarterfinals, while the 9th- and 10th-ranked teams get dropped from contention.

Rewarding the top two quarterfinalists with twice-to-beat advantage, QF1 has the No. 1 team battling No. 8 and No. 2 tangling with No. 7 in QF2.

A wringer awaits the four other qualifiers: No. 3 takes on No. 6 (QF3) and No. 4 faces No. 5 (QF4), both via best-of-three playoffs.

The four emerging playoff winners then move to the best-of-7 semifinal series under this matchup: QF1 winner vs. QF4 winner and QF2 winner vs. QF3 winner.

The championship series will also be a best-of-7 showdown.

Continue reading PBA unveils format for Philippine Cup at Journal.com.ph (source) or access more Latest Sports News articles.

Sports News topics: PBA playoffs 2015 format

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>